Belgium-Turkey trilateral ministerial meeting

24.01.2013 - 12:16

Turkey and Belgium hold a trilateral ministerial meeting in Brussels on 22 January.

The aim of this meeting which is the second one at the ministerial level, (the first one was held in Istanbul in October 2008) is to promote end enhance a dialogue between the two countries on issues of common interest: the fight against terrorism, police and judicial cooperation, as well as the cooperation on consular matters and migration management. 

The Belgian delegation was composed of  Mr Didier Reynders, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and European Affairs, Mrs Joëlle Milquet, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Interior and Equal Opportunities, Mrs Annemie Turtelboom, Minister of Justice, and Mrs Maggie De Block, Secretary of State for Asylum and Migration, Social Integration and the Fight against Poverty. The Turkish delegation was consisted of Mr Ahmet Davutoğlu, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mr. Sadullah Ergin, Minister of Justice and Mr İdris Naim Şahin, Minister of Interior. 

The diplomatic officials in a joint press statement expressed their will to fight terrorism and to further develop their cooperation in this field. Concretely, they outlined that they will follow the international laws in order to prevent and suppress terrorism, and to protect human rights and refugees. Furthermore, the Ministers welcomed the ongoing dialogue between Turkey and the European Union in fighting terrorism.

Moreover, the Ministers of Foreign Affairs discussed about the situation in Middle East, human rights issues and the relations between Turkey and the European Union. Also they spoke about consular and visa issues. 

The Ministers of the Interior signed a Memorandum of Understanding on Police Cooperation. Through this Memorandum Turkey and Belgium can exchange their experiences and practices in fighting terrorism, organized crime, human trafficking, illegal trafficking of drugs and money laundering.

The Ministers of Justice signed a Joint Statement on Judiciary Cooperation. “Direct communication channels will be established between the central authorities in order to increase the effectiveness of cooperation and improve mutual comprehension of national procedures and legislation”.